Nominations Ballon d’Or 2011: Rooney Only Englishman on Shortlist

Nominations Ballon d’Or 2011: Rooney Only Englishman on Shortlist

The FIFA Ballon d’Or 2011 nominations have been announced for Player of the Year and current European champions Barcelona will be well-satisfied to see they have 8 players on the shortlist. Another Spanish club, Real Madrid also has 5 players nominated while only one Englishman, Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney makes the list.

Barcelona captain Lionel Messi has been nominated once again and could win the coveted award for the third year running. His teammates that are also on the shortlist are Eric Abidal, Dani Alves, Cesc Fabregas, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Gerard Pique and David Villa. The five nominated from Real Madrid are Xabi Alonso, Karim Benzema, Iker Casillas, Mesut Ozil and Cristiano Ronaldo.

There are four players on the list that play in the English Premier League and they are Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Nani (Man Utd), Sergio Aguero (Man City) and Luis Suarez (Liverpool). Three managers currently in the English Premier League have also been shortlisted for Coach of the Year and they are Alex Ferguson (Man Utd), Arsene Wenger (Arsenal) and Andre Villas-Boas of Chelsea although as The Telegraph points out that is for his work when with FC Porto. On December 5 the player nominations will be whittled down to three and the winner will be announced on January 9 in Zurich. The full list of 23 nominees for Player of the Year is as follows –

Eric Abidal – France, Sergio Aguero – Argentina, Karim Benzema – France, Iker Casillas – Spain, Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal, Dani Alves – Brazil, Samuel Eto’o – Cameroon, Cesc Fabregas – Spain, Diego Forlan – Uruguay, Andres Iniesta – Spain, Lionel Messi – Argentina, Thomas Muller – Germany, Nani – Portugal, Neymar -Brazil, Mesut Ozil – Germany, Gerard Pique – Spain, Wayne Rooney – England, Bastian Schweinsteiger – Germany, Wesley Sneijder – Netherlands, Luis Suarez – Uruguay, David Villa – Spain, Xabi Alonso – Spain, Xavi – Spain.

For the full list of Ballon d’Or coach nominees, check out the previous Telegraph link above. Jose Mourinho won the Ballon d’Or for coach last year but favourite for this year is likely to be Pep Guardiola according to ESPN. We’d like to hear your thoughts on the nominations for the 2011 FIFA Ballon d’Or awards. Are you surprised at any of the inclusions, or indeed omissions, on the list? Who do you think will be the final three when the list is reduced down? Let us know by sending us your comments.

Leave a comment below or follow us on Twitter.


Recent News